European Association for Food Safety, EAFS

The mission of the EAFS, the SAFE consortium is to stimulate the public debate in Europe on the scientific aspects of food safety, by making available up-to-date knowledge from institutes whose scientific integrity is guaranteed by the unlimited right to publish in the public interest. Its member organisations work together developing and promoting interdisciplinary research projects and partnerships. This requires a strategic assessment of research trends in food safety and a high degree of interaction with European Commission and its institutions.

EAFS is a European network of centres of excellence in the area of food safety. The present Members of the SAFE Consortium are:

  1. Central Food Research Institute ‘KEKI’ is a highly recognised food research institute in Hungary focusing on research related to food safety and the challenges resulting from the EU membership

  2. Institute for Food and Agricultural Research and Technology  ‘IRTA’ is a state-owned company of the Catalan Government created in 1985. Its activities deal with research and technology transfer in agriculture, aquaculture and the agrifood industry.

  3. Institute of Food Research ‘IFR’ is sponsored by the UK Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council and undertakes fundamental and strategic research on the safety and quality of food and the improvement of diet and health

  4. Istituto di Scienze delle Produzioni Alimentari ‘ISPA’ of the National Research Council covers food technology, quality and safety research e.g. mycotoxins, toxigenic fungi, food pathogens, food allergens, post-harvest technology, horticulture and biological control.

  5. The Food Institute ‘FI’ at Marmara Research Centre of Tübitak was established in 1972. Its research and development activities are in the field of food science and technology

  6. National Food Centre ‘Teagasc’ was established in 1988. Its mission is to conduct research and training to support the development of the food industry in Ireland

  7. National Institute for Agricultural Research ‘INRA’ was founded in France in 1946 and is a national public scientific and technological establishment with activities to serve the public interest, to disseminate information on scientific knowledge, and to contribute to decision-making and training.

  8. Royal Veterinary University ‘KVL’ conducts research and teaches within the areas of food quality and food safety.

  9. Swiss Federal Research Stations ‘Agroscope’ was found in 2002 and consist of five Swiss Federal Research Stations, some of them more than 100 years old. Agroscope mainly deals with applied research in agriculture.

  10. The Netherlands Organization for Applied Scientific Research  ‘TNO’ was established in 1930 to support companies and governments with innovative, practicable knowledge.

  11. VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland VTT was founded in Finland in 1942. VTT Biotechnology is focusing on development of bioscience applications to meet the requirements in the industry.

  12. Wageningen University and Research Centre WUR in The Netherlands is a leading international knowledge institute in the fields of nutrition and health, sustainable agricultural systems, environmental quality and processes of social change.

Click here to locate the EAFS member institutes on the map.


Member institutes:


Paivi Vahala© Back | Top